The Executive is elected at the Annual General Meeting by and from members of ASPERA. The executive consists of a: President, Vice-President, Secretary, Treasurer, plus two members from a state or territory other than the above, where possible. Each year the Vice President succeeds the President. Each year the conference is also rotated amongst participating institutions and amongst the states and territories. In the event that the conference convener is not already on the Executive Committee they will be co-opted as an ordinary member for that year. The Executive communicates regularly with its members to identify and consider issues affecting screen production, education and research, to develop policy, to represent screen production courses within the tertiary sector and at the level of state and federal government on behalf of ASPERA. The Executive promotes effective communication amongst its members either via regular email bulletins and/or via the ASPERA website.



James Verdon
James Verdon (President)
Department of Film and Animation, Swinburne University of Technology, VIC T: 03 9214 6981


Bettina Frankham
Bettina Frankham (Vice-President)
UTS Media Arts & Production, UTS, NSW  T: 02 9514 1649


Alison Wotherspoon
Alison Wotherspoon (Treasurer)
Department of Screen and Media, Flinders University, SA  T: 08 8201 2290


Sarah Stollman (Secretary)
Production Design, Rescreened NSW T: 0412 888772


Craig Batty
Craig Batty (Chair – Research Sub Committee)
School of Media and Communication, RMIT University, VIC T: 03 9925 2456


Margaret McVeigh(Ordinary Member 1)
Film and Screen Media, Griffith University, QLD T: 1 800 154 055


Simon Weaving (Ordinary Member 2)
School of Creative Industries, Communication, The University of Newcastle, NSW

Jump to top